“Zonoscope” – Cut Copy

I have a confession, I sometimes find Cut Copy frustrating. It may have something to do with the fact that I don’t listen to electronica as much as other genres, but overall I  think they’re too hit or miss for me, I love some of their songs but some I just can’t stand. Cut Copy’s new album, Zonoscope has this problem too unfortunately, but the good moments are stunning and probably the best things Cut Copy’s ever done.

.

"Zonoscope" - Cut Copy

.

I going to start with the album cover. Why? Because it’s completely awesome. Like the album itself, it’s ambitious and I think the whole concept suits the album perfectly. On top of that it’s one of the best looking album covers I’ve seen.

Zonoscope starts with the slow building Need You Now. Starting off quite boring, it somehow creeps into you and gets stuck in your head. When I first heard the song I almost turned it off numerous times, but I’m glad I didn’t. It clears headspace which is then fully utilised by the great and expansive ending. It’s definitely a signature Cut Copy tune, somehow they have the ability to get into your head and you have absolutely no way of stopping them. Take Me Over is next and like Need You Now it’s catchy as anything. It also has a funny sort of tribal beat, a style that is used throughout the album, it’s something I didn’t expect when I first listened to Zonoscope, but I think it gives the album some soul.

Pharaohs & Pyramids is another song that stands out from the rest, the synths on the track are something that’s unique to songs as pop influenced as this, or at least the songs I’ve heard. It’s a lot more subtle and clever in the way it’s written as well, something that makes me respect Cut Copy all that much more.

Okay, so I kinda alluded to this piece of music that stands out as the best thing that Cut Copy’s ever done. That piece of music is Sun God, clocking in at 15:05, it’s more of a broad musical journey than anything else, I wouldn’t even call it a soundscape (although it becomes something similar halfway through the track). The beat track is great, like the rest of the album’s drums, it’s deceivedly simple. But it’s elegance is in it’s simplicity and subtleness, and the synths around it are used only to enhance the beat and effectiveness that it has.

Zonoscope won me over. I wouldn’t have said Cut Copy was a band that deserved all the praise it gets. But after listening to Zonoscope, and despite the fact that I don’t listen to dance music frequently, I can safely say Cut Copy deserves every single amount of praise they get.

Reviewers Pick: “Sun God”

Stand-out Tracks: “Need You Now”, “Take Me Over”, “Pharaohs & Pyramids”, “Sun God”

Rating: 8.2/10

 

~ by Michael Hodder on February 11, 2011.

One Response to ““Zonoscope” – Cut Copy”

  1. The way you started your post not so supportive of Cut Copy makes this post interesting from the start. The undecided view on the album “Zonoscope” helps open your post and gives your room to explain your views. I like how you began talking about the cover and how it exemplifies the sound and direction of the album. The slow pace of early tracks in the album leads up to something worth listening to. The way you described the album from start to finish helps readers understand the album. I like how you ended on a good note, in support of the band and its praise from listeners. I think you could include some more information on the artwork for the album because you mentioned it. If you’re interested, the artist’s name is Tsunehisa Kimura.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.