“Science For The Living” – ‘Kyte’ [Joint Review]

From start to finish, “Science For The Living”, ‘Kyte’s’ latest release for ’09, will leave you in a comfortable music-induced coma sure to have you dreaming. Back in ’07, ‘Kyte’ crept its way onto the stage with their debut single “Planet”, featuring their b-side pick “Boundaries” as a couplet with television series “The Sopranos”. Following this fortuitous opportunity, ‘Kyte’ released their first full-length feature album in ’08, and are back again!

"Science For The Living" - 'Kyte'

"Science For The Living" - 'Kyte'

Well, doing a little research into ‘Kyte’, ol’ faithful: wikipedia.com, genre-labelled this band as a mix of shoegazing and post-rock. I’m not going to even try going into the specifics of shoegazing, but I can only imagine someone, on some fateful day, gazing at a Nike sneaker whilst listening to something reminiscent of ‘Kyte’ , coined the term and have been using it ever since. But If I had to put my finger on it, “Science For The Living” utilises, in segments, a range of various musical elements and brings it together to form one glorious whole. It’s somewhat understandable placing them in post-rock, but it seems ‘tacky’. For instance, an ambient feel in the background accompanies soft guitar, Nick Moon[vocals] singing in the background, with an assortment of various percussion instruments. And at times, weaves into this wonderful fabric, some synth that’s just extra icing on an already delectable cake…

I have to admit, this weeks pick is a gold nugget the size of my fist. Compared to previous albums, like “Swoon” or “We Make Our Own Bad Luck” – “WMOOBL” for short…

Well…

What can I say??? “Science For The Living” is one of a kind – it’s a rare album, in that each and every song is exactly where it ought to be. There’s just enough happening, at just enough length, with just enough tracks, and with a two-disc set, “Science For The Living” is sure to educate you in more ways than one. I just sat back, one fateful day, sprawled across the couch, closed my eyes and suddenly became immersed into this miniature musical universe ‘Kyte’ has masterfully crafted for itself.

So in this sense, I’m actually recommending you listen to each-and-every track that ‘Kyte’ has here for you, furnished on a silver platter. If I had to go into favourites, ‘Kyte’ is at its utmost at its opener, “Eyes Lose Their Fire”. Some time back I was talking about poorly-labelled track names. ‘Kyte’ isn’t one of them, they’ve made sure of that. Even if the track title doesn’t appear throughout their myriad of lyrics, it still plays some relevance in communicating what’s already being spoken. “The Smoke Save Lives” is a fine example of timpani-like percussion that brings together ‘fantabulously’ the entire track. Conversely “Two Sparks” has its glockenspiel/xylophone working in tandem with its piano counterpart. It all works – nothing overshadows anything, ‘Kyte’ makes sure each instrument works harmoniously with others.

Some bands have lingering sounds that are as useful as a third armpit, here there aren’t any…

So…

You’re thinking I’ve got the perfect gem don’t you???

Well, for all its marvels, ‘Kyte’s’ only flaw was the inclusion of a detestable remix of their opening song, “Eyes Lose Their Fire”, an accompaniment on their second disc. Which, I thought, sadly, brought it down a notch. So, for all intents and purposes, ‘Kyte’was on a five-star roll until it hit this tiny hurdle. I was just talking to my fellow blogger, and I quote myself:

I hate the radio remixes – they shove some extra beat for bounce in there and call it a remix. Then they f*!# around with the vocals and totally ruin a decent song…”

Pardon the ‘French’, but it felt absolutely necessary. And it’s true, they just shoved in some stupid beat that was totally rubbish, mucked with the vocals and tore it to pieces. Nevertheless, when it comes down to value, I’d say, for a two disc set, and a fair price, 15-$25, you were getting a decent album. It pulls out all the stops, it has the nit-picky attitude that lacks in most artists at the moment, and it is generally a good listen and a great buy, even if it’s not your cup of tea.

When I come to rating this album, that remix still bothers me, and it keeps me from rating this a full-blown ‘magnificence’. So, in keeping in line with what I said prior, and by not supporting worthless remixes, fourteen outta fifteen should be appropriate…

Look at it this way, fourteen songs I liked, and one I didn’t!

Until when,

The Enantiomorphic God

~ by enantiomorphicgod on April 19, 2009.

One Response to ““Science For The Living” – ‘Kyte’ [Joint Review]”

  1. […] I was reading one of my previous reviews the other day – as you do – and found myself caught up in ‘The Besnard Lakes’ all over again; feeling slightly estranged, for at the time, I was listening to ‘We Were Raised By Swans’, I was delightfully surprised to find this band fervently dissimilar from the usual-listenings of the North American region and Canada in particular.“No Ghostless Place” is a refreshing follow-up from the band’s initial debut way-back in ‘05. So – you do the math – this album smacks of maturity, and I would liken it to the lovechild of ‘Interpol’s’ “Turn On The Bright Lights” and ‘Kyte’s’ “Science For The Living”. […]

Leave a Reply

