“Further Complications” (Joint Review)

Well, this is the first joint review where we’ve both totally disagreed about the album, I personally think it’s a masterfully produced, alternative influenced album from an indie legend. Well, close to it…

.

Jarvis Cocker - "Further Complications"

Jarvis Cocker - "Further Complications"

.

Jarvis Cocker is the singer-songwriter from Pulp, one the leading Britpop bands in the 90’s. ‘Further Complications’ was produced by Steve Albini, who has produced albums such as, Surfer Rosa (The Pixies), In Utero (Nirvana), ACME (Jon Spencer Blues Explosion) and more recently Paradise (My Disco). His influence on the album is blaringly obvious, which has resulted in a style of Britpop edgier and heavier than what I thought was possible.

I can’t get enough of this album, I must’ve listened to it about 20 times over the past week, It’s just so easy to listen to. Like all good britpop, it’s simple, catchy and slightly out-there, I’d even go as far as saying it would hold it’s own against britpop classics such as Parklife and Definately Maybe, the timing is 15 years too late though and in the end, britpop was a genre of the mid-90’s.

‘Further Complications’ starts with the edgy title track, which starts the album perfectly with a bang. As with the rest of the album, it’s lyrically brilliant, perfectly pop and yet still clever. It even has a change in pace that just compliments the song perfectly.

‘Angela’ is song that is as catchy as any song ever made, maybe it’s because of the constant muttering of the name ‘Angela’, actually, wait… that’s definitely why. It’s the knowledge of catchy music that lets Cocker write a song that gets away with such repetitiveness.

I’ll mention the brilliant softer/slower songs such as ‘I Never Said I Was Deep’ and ‘Slush’, because they really compliment the album and make it stand out from others of it’s kind. But if you’re going to like the album then it’s the heavier songs that will win you over.

The jazz band backed ‘Homewrecker!’ is one of my favourites on the album, it’s deceptively heavy, without being overwhelming. It has such a big sound and it’s the kind of production that the last album I reviewed (‘As We Fall…’ by Toma) deserved.

My absolute favourite song on the album is “Fuckingsong”, which has one of  the cleverest pop lyrics I’ve heard, twisting meanings and making it into something that is special. A really simple guitar riff is the centrepiece of the song though, and I found myself playing the riff on the guitar almost instantly after hearing it.

I know my counterpart will probably immensely dislike it, he has mentioned it’s repetitive, but in my opinion when it’s as good as it is, I don’t really blame him for keeping with the vibe. It’s a really enjoyable album to listen to and is one of my favourites for the year.

It’s an album of almost’s though, it was almost my favourite album for the year, it was almost as good as the britpop classic albums, it was almost brilliant. Don’t get me wrong it’s an exceptional album but I’m not totally getting carried away with it.

Early last year I thought britpop was dead and buried, Damon Albarn had started writing opera’s and the Gallagher brothers had lost their way…

I was way off, a reunited Blur have announced that they will be playing Glastonbury, with an album in the works and now this…

Britpop fans rejoice!

~ by Michael Hodder on May 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

