‘”The Peaceful Atom Is A Bomb” – ‘Regular John’ [Joint Review]

There’s been a definite shift in my music-tastes this week, as can be seen with ‘Krikor And The Dead Hillbillies’, and their counterpart ‘Banjo Or Freakout’ prior, on Friday. And to add to those two unique marvels this week, my partner, Michael Hodder, and his pick “A Peaceful Atom Is A Bomb”, ‘Regular John’‘Regular’ just about sums them up there…

Strangely enough, they aren’t my usual kettle of fish, so my reviews might be more of a critical nature than usual. For many, this might be a fresh new arrival to the Australian music forefront; they’re from Sydney, can you believe? Quiet, ‘Peaceful’ Perth has managed to pump out an interesting number of artists [thanks to Michael Hodder, and his “music-informativeways, I now know], both successful and not, I suppose. Which is to be expected, and this would have to be the second [or perhaps even third] artist I’ve reviewed from Sydney, other than ‘The Hylozoists’. But there’s enough difference between the both for ‘Regular John’ – in my eyes – to be overlooked, and I won’t be surprised if they are missed entirely, or shelved by many others after purchase…

"A Peaceful Atom Is A Bomb" - 'Regular John'

"A Peaceful Atom Is A Bomb" - 'Regular John'

Some weeks previous, and I doubt if anybody can remember back that far, and for future reference, it was probably in ‘The Hylozoists’ review if I’m not mistaken [maybe even ‘The Dead Sea’], I was mentioning something about rock, and Australia’s need to be influenced by it almost in every way. ‘The Hylozoists’, in my opinion, were breaking down the wall called ‘ACDC’, paving with the bricks, a new road for Australian contemporary music. ‘Regular John’, although their music can be just as upbeat as it can be heavy, have regressed back into that ‘mould’. If I had to relate them to an artist, I would probably consider them a heavier version of ‘The Arctic Monkeys’, the rock is similar, from my perspective. In some respects, even ‘Black Sabbath’. I’m sure there are a heck of a lot of others I could compare them to, and that’s ‘Regular John’s’ downfall: no uniqueness!

Sure, there are some memorable songs, the occasional odd-hanging lyric that just has to be sung out loud, but the tunes seem ‘recycled’, in my opinion. It’s the old: “play it long, play it loud, play it rough – it’ll work…” So, genre-wise, there’s not much going on here, no boundary-breaking stuff, just another pigeonhole-band on the cusp of metal, clinging to rock. Members include, and I’ll quote from their site: “Brock-Guitar/Vocals, Macca-Drums, Caleb-Bass/Vocals, Ryan-Guitar/Vocals…”

“Hello?” The Enantoimorphic God answers his phone, blissfully unaware.

“Hey…” the voice says on the other end, the sound of shuffling feet heard overhead.

“Hey, is that Johnny?”

“…. Heeeeeeyyyyyyyy… It’s Johnny! I’m the guy in your roof… I need some help…” the voice whispers.

[Extract taken from actual conversation and scenario, but placed out of context: TV-Antenna Guy fixing The Enantimorphic God’s television-aerial; still sounds creepy…]

Now to go through it’s play-list. There are some solid tracks here, there’s no doubt. I’m just reiterating the fact that I’ve heard things like this all before. Too many similarities can be found between this, and other bands. Opening “A Peaceful Atom Is A Bomb” for ‘Regular John’, is the sci-fi-esque electric guitar in “Transmitter”. When the heavy kicks in, some thick bass, some oozing percussion, and vocals on the cusp of screamo, you’re in ‘Regular John’ town…

Following, “Abattoir Noir”, which kicks off with that thick bass again, percussion, electric. Same formula as before. Vocals, here, feature heavily, and the music is used for greater emphasis. But I find nothing especially ear-catching here, moving onwards: “Language” would probably be the only saviour for this album, and if I had to pick a favourite, this would be it. Exactly the same entrance – but the joint-vocals “… They… Don’t… Speak… For… Us… They don’t speak-a my language…” are its highlights. What surprises me is come its end, some very drone-like music. It goes for about thirty seconds, and shows promise for the rest of the album.

I was disappointed with its following…

All I can say is, by the mid-half of the album, you’ll find your listening to the top-half all over. I find it difficult to get through the entirety of “A Peaceful Atom Is A Bomb”, simply because it doesn’t ‘shake-it-up’enough, and when it does, it’s uncharacteristic of ‘Regular John’ – take for example “The Lonely Sky”. It just isn’t working for me. When it comes to length, the album has a solid hour or more, tracks length about four-to-five minutes, on the mark. If I had to buy it, I wouldn’t, to be honest – $5 perhaps, but nothing extravagant. If I had to rate it, a genuine three-outta-five should do it – rating it below this is too harsh, they’re not bad, and rating them above it, they aren’t quite there yet…

Until when,

The Enantiomorphic God

~ by enantiomorphicgod on May 24, 2009.

One Response to “‘”The Peaceful Atom Is A Bomb” – ‘Regular John’ [Joint Review]”

  1. […] Original post by enantiomorphicgod […]

Leave a Reply

