“Far” – Regina Spektor

Regina Spektor is one of those artists that you can’t help but like. I don’t really listen to much piano based music (with the exception of Ben Folds and to a small extent Sigur Ros), but Regina Spektor has something in her sound that makes the music feel really homely and personal. Yes, maybe the lyrics are a bit immature, but if you really take them in, there is a lot of depth to them.

I enjoyed Spektor’s first album, but to be perfectly honest I wasn’t exactly eagerly awaiting this new album. This changed though when I heard the first single, “Laughing With” on the radio, it caught me straight away and ever since I haven’t been able to get it out of my head.

.

Regina Spektor - "Far"

Regina Spektor - "Far"

.

‘Far’ is Regina Spektor’s fifth studio album but she rose to fame after the release of her last album, so to a lot of people it will seem like a second album. She’s also toured with the likes of The Strokes and Kings of Leon, which is really interesting as I couldn’t see her opening for either act, due to a differing style/genre.

If you haven’t heard any of Regina Spektor’s music before, then the best way to describe her is a quaint female Ben Folds. It’s a bit of a generalisation, I know, but there are a lot of similarities between the two artists. For a start their lyrics are sometimes somewhat comedic and yet they both still have the ability to write some really sombre and sad songs (ie. Brick by the Ben Folds Five).

For me ‘Far’ was an album that had a few moments where the quality dropped, I’m not saying that those points were bad, but if you listen to the best 3 or 4 songs on the album, the rest doesn’t reach their quality. These highlights on the album are the songs I’m going to focus on, because when an album has tracks as good as ‘Far’ does, you know it’s probably going to be an extremely solid and enjoyable album.

As I’ve already said “Laughing With”, was a song that caught me straight away, the chord progression is very sombre and it was a bit unexpected, because at the time I didn’t actually know whose song it was, but I think you can definitely tell that it’s a Regina Spektor song. In the chorus’ the song gets more optimistic, I really like songs that are optimistic yet at the same time sad, I don’t know why but I just love the fact that music be made up of two totally opposite moods and yet still sound valid. I definitely recommend this song to anyone, I assure you, you’ll love it.

“Eet” is another sadder song and I’m not sure why I think these sad songs are the best on the album, but I’ve got a feeling that it’s got to do with the fact that musically, it’s where Spektor shines. “Eet” is probably the song where Regina Spektor’s voice is at its best, its changes a few times through the song and these changes compliment the changes in the song perfectly.

“Folding Chair” and “Machine” are also great songs and if you are going to listen to just a few songs on the album then these four are probably your best bet. The album itself hinges on whether the listener likes albums or whether the listener likes songs, if they like songs then you’re in for a real treat, but on the other hand if you’re partial to albums, then this is probably just better than good.

I don’t like giving ratings in my reviews for some reason, but I think this album probably needs one, I’ve been unsure about the album all week, but I think it’s somewhere between 7.5-8.5/10, depending on your mood at the time.

~ by Michael Hodder on June 24, 2009.

2 Responses to ““Far” – Regina Spektor”

  1. As a matter of fact, I came across this album a little while back. I understand the difficulties you went to get hold of it, and it sounds worth the while. I wasn’t aware you were interested with music like this…

    Anyways, Temper Trap sounds good, if I manage to get round to it, we’ll put Moby on hold for a little while.

    Oh, and by the way, I’ve updated Mars Volta’s lyrics page, it’s got all the songs now, so don’t worry…

    Have a fantastic two-week break, man, and think of the vinyl you want me to get you for your b’day.

    Cheers,

    D’Aloia

  2. Oh she is so beautiful I just cannot get enough of her! Saw her live 3 times this year and each time she got better and better!

    also CHECK OUT MY BLOG – http://ocdtetris.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

