“The Resistance” – Muse (Joint Review)

Muse are a fantastic band, not only are they one of, if not, the best live act going around, they also make some really great albums. Problem is though, when you’re a band with so much expectations on you, it’s very hard to make an album that everybody will enjoy. Muse’s 5th studio album, “The Resistance” is close to being a masterpiece, but falls down in originality.

.

"The Resistance" - 'Muse'

"The Resistance" - 'Muse'

.

‘The Resistance’ was highly anticipated and I was really looking forward to what Muse were going to come out with. But after the release of two songs off the album, I was a bit (extremely) sceptical. ‘United States of Eurasia’ was blatant Queen rip-off and ‘Uprising’ was too “Doctor Who”. Coming up to the release I was getting readying myself for an extremely disappointing album, so expectations suddenly became seriously low.

A few days ago I listened to the whole album and I’ve got to admit, I had never heard an album that had so many ups and downs in quality. The worst bits were horrible and unoriginal, but on the other hand some songs bordered on masterpieces, especially the three part “symphony”, but more on that later. Funnily enough the only songs that I didn’t enjoy were the two I mentioned earlier, everything else was what I would expect from a band to the calibre of Muse.

I think I’ve talked enough about the bad sides of the album, so now to the brilliant parts. ‘Undisclosed Desires’ is definitely new territory for the band, because I don’t think Muse has ever written a song like it, it’s very electronic and has very little rock influences, it’s a song that would be interesting to see live, because I don’t know whether the band could pull it off. ‘Unnatural Selection’ is a song that could fit on any other Muse album with ease, it’s got a great riff and really takes advantage of Matthew Bellamy’s voice. With a bit of tweaking it could have brilliant on ‘Origin of Symmetry’, because it’s very similar in style to what Muse were writing in that period.

Now, to the best track on the album. “Exogenesis” is simply a masterpiece. The three part symphony clocks in at over 12 minutes and is a perfect finish to any album. The key changes allow the music to be both depressing and sorrowful, yet still remain uplifting which fits with the album name ‘The Resistance’. Epic is one word for the song, but even that doesn’t really give the song justice, it sounds like it belongs in a massive concert hall with a full orchestra playing. The strength of the song is the how it evolves through the song and becomes a totally different song within one “master track”.

I’m giving ‘The Resistance’ an 8 out of 10, keeping in mind that it had the potential of going all the way and getting a 10/10, the two awful songs ruined the album in my opinion, and I know a lot of people will disagree but those two songs are Muse’s all time worst by a long way. Lyrically it’s fine, the 1984 references add to the whole feel of the album and most of the time I couldn’t fault it. This is definitely an album that’s basically a must buy, but don’t be expecting a 10/10.

Standout Tracks: “Exogenesis”, “Undisclosed Desires”, “Unnatural Selection”

Rating: 8/10

~ by Michael Hodder on September 13, 2009.

3 Responses to ““The Resistance” – Muse (Joint Review)”

  1. This album was perfect. 129/10 in my book.

  2. I agree…My review would be similar.
    But in the standout tracks I don’t agree with Undisclosed Desires”, because it’s a song that has nothing to do with Muse. It’s so VERY different, and so pop and r&b..I think the song could be worse (it’s not so bad), but it’s a big diversion to their most “traditional” sound and a quick direction to the biggest mainstream….
    I would substitute UD for United States of Eurasia (despite the comparation with Queen, for me, it’s an amazing song)or MK Ultra (very good too).
    And Exogenesis is truly brilliant, one of the best things they have ever done, in my opinion.

  3. Muse Albums is always interesting to review.

    I only know 3 songs from The Resistance album, There are Uprising, USE, and I Belong To You. Another song I don’t know yet.

Leave a Reply

