“Purple [EP]” – Tristan Clopet

When I got asked to review this EP, I was a bit confused as to how I was going to write the review. The EP goes from Red Hot Chili Pepper style songs straight to Jeff Buckley-esque songs, and I wasn’t sure whether it worked or not. All in all, I’ll have to wait until his full length release in 2011 to decide what I think of him as an artist.

.

"Purple" - Tristan Clopet

.

As I mentioned before, the EP is made up of RHCP-style and Jeff Buckley-style songs. For me I love the slower songs, because I think they’re more unique to him as a musician. At the moment their are tons of these funk influenced rock bands around, I’m not sure about the rest of the world but there’s a ton in Australia and I’m just a bit tired of them. But Tristan Clopet really separates himself from the generic musician on a few slower tracks that really sound great, especially with the production on them.

When I listen to smaller artists like this, I often try to figure out what separates them from the average band. In the case of Tristan Clopet, it was pretty obvious that he’s a magnificent musician. His guitar work is brilliant and his voice is as versatile as a swiss army knife. This is evident in his cover songs that can be found on his website.

Don’t get me wrong, the RHCP-influenced tracks are great, but they don’t separate him from all the other RHCP influenced bands. They’re probably better than the rest, but not by a big enough margain for people to really take extra notice.

Long story short, two songs make me think that his debut could be amazing, they are “So Alive” and “Love and A Question”. Both build towards an ethereal ending and really have the ability to define him as a musician/artist. As mentioned, the production on these two tracks are great and really make the songs sound professional. So if you find yourself one track in and about to turn the album off, let it go a bit longer. Because I can guarantee that there will be something on here that will grab your attention.

The problem that I have been alluding to with the EP is the fact that it doesn’t really find a direction. Yeah, you could probably argue that it’s a funk styled EP with a few slower tracks chucked on for good measure, but I would like to think that it’s not. So I would definitely recommend that you take a listen to this EP, but I’ll be keeping an eager and anxious eye out for his debut album.

Reviewer’s Pick: “So Alive”

Stand-out Tracks: “So Alive”, “Love And A Question”, “Black Panther Party”

Rating: 6.8/10

~ by Michael Hodder on December 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

